R O W A N

relax, handknit, create

Frida on White Bench, Nickolas Murray, 1939 © Nickolas Murray Photo Archives

Selvedge Magazine Editorial office PO Box 40038 N6 5UW editor@selvedge.org www.selvedge.org Editorial T: 020 8341 0248 Subscriptions T: 020 8341 9721 Advertising T: 020 8341 7880

Publisher: Selvedge ltd

Editor: Polly Leonard, editor@selvedge.org Art Director: Helena Thomas, design@selvedge.org Features Editor: Elizabeth Smith, subeditor@selvedge.org Copy Editor: Peter Shaw, copy@selvedge.org Picture Editor: Jane Larkin, images@selvedge.org Editorial Manager: Sabrina Iken, assistant@selvedge.org e-Marketing Manager: Clare De Lotbiniere, e-marketing@selvedge.org Subscriptions Manager: Kate Karko, subscriptions@selvedge.org Promotions Manager: Beth Hale enquiries@selvedge.org Advertising: enquiries@selvedge.org Accounts: Marco Tuveri, accounts@selvedge.org interns Laura Service

Emma Caple Jessica Preston

Contributing Editors: Jessica Hemmings Anne Morelle Michael Brennand-Wood Amy de la Haye Karen Nicol Philip Hughes Clare Lewis Catherine Harper Elana Dixon.

Telephone 01484 681881 Email: mail@knitrowan.com www.knitrowan.com lBeach Coo itty in Cotton Braid from

K

Selvedge (ISSN: 1742-254X) is published six times a year by Selvedge Ltd. Registered Office 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW. Copyright © Selvedge Ltd 2004. All rights reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part without written permission is strictly prohibited. The editor reserves the right to edit, shorten or modify any material submitted. The editor’s decision on all printed material is final. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the Selvedge magazine, Selvedge Ltd or the editor. Unsolicited material will be considered but cannot be returned. Printing: St Ives Roche Ltd. Paper: Hello Silk Board 250g, Hello Matt 130g, Challenger Offset 110g. Colour Origination: PH Media. Web Design: datadial. Original design concept and identity: Direct Design. Distribution: Mercury International Ltd. Periodicals Postage Paid at Rahway NJ. Postmaster send address corrections to Selvedge Magazine, C/O Mercury Airfreight International Ltd, 365 Blair Road, Avenel, New Jersey 07001. Subscription rates for one year (6 issues): Paper Magazine, UK £36.00; Europe ⇔65.00; USA $85.00; rest of world £60.00 Web Magazine, UK £20.00; Europe ⇔30.00; USA $40.00; rest of world £20.00